Other

My Demons

Upon nightfall is when the demons invade my head. I feel their pain inside my chest, in my heart and sometimes I cannot escape them. I imagine myself running away as fast as I can, losing my breath but they are so close I can feel their touch upon my shoulder. My eyes burst into tears and fear fills my mind- panic sets in. I begin to quickly think rapidly trying to find a way out, finding a way to end this race. I am breathing so hard unable to catch my breath and the pain in my chest increasing. I start to wonder if I should just stop and give in to them. Then I look forward instead of back and see a hand reaching out for mine. I am hugged in a strong embrace and temporarily the demons fade until the next nightfall. For now I am safe and one day those demons will disappear. I know some day they will. ~ Kate S.

Leave a Reply

